Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
OT-Limousine Crash Scoharie NY
Posted by: UGLYTRUK ()
Date: October 11, 2018 07:30AM

I submitted the following comments to WAMC, the local public radio station for Albany NY, near where this accident happened. They didn't print it, and closed the comment section below the internet story.

My guess is a hydraulic brake pipe failed. They're typically made of zinc or galvanized plated steel and rust to imminent failure in about 10 years. Sometimes they're in good condition except for a small portion, usually at a clamp or where they're screwed to the rubber caliper hose or wheel brake cylinder connection (galvanic corrosion). I've been a mechanic for 40 years and have seen so many cars and trucks with rusty brake lines ready to spring a hydraulic brake oil leak and yikes, 90% brake failure! Usually with zero warning. Some brake function will remain due to a 1967 federally mandated dual circuit master curcuit, but not nearly enough to stop a large vehicle barreling downhill. A quick thinking driver may be able to apply the emergency (parking) brake, if it works, again due to rust, it likely was out of service. I can't count how many vehicles I've seen pass the NY inspection with seized or completely missing cables, a common occurance. Many newer (1990 up) vehicles have rear disc brakes that have essentially inefective emergency brakes that wouldn't be able to stop a vehicle no matter how hard the pedal is applied or lever pulled up. This includes Mercedes and GM Suburbans among many others. I always use my emergency brakes to keep the system functional, I doubt any vehicle with an automatic transmission, more than about 10 years old is ever used or functions. These are my speculations about the li