Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
OT - Anyone have a Power Probe 3?
Posted by: OttawaCorvairGuy ()
Date: October 06, 2018 06:08PM

Does anyone have a Power Probe 3?

IF SO - What do you think are the Pros and Cons...

I'm thinking of getting a Power Probe 3 and the Power Probe CAT IV 600V digital multimeter.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/06/2018 06:09PM by OttawaCorvairGuy.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: OT - Anyone have a Power Probe 3?
Posted by: moomba32 ()
Date: October 06, 2018 06:31PM

The Power Probe looks interesting, never had heard of it before but I'm not an auto mechanic. I am an industrial electrician and I do like Fluke meters.

Don Marlowe
66 Monza 2Dr 140/pg
64 Spyder convertible now, 110/pg
Eutawville SC

Posted by: MattNall ()
Date: October 06, 2018 06:32PM

After using Fluke for Decades.... all HF for me....

Sea Mountain, between Charleston Harbor and Coos Bay! SW Oregon Coast
Click HERE for My Website...Click HERE for My TechPages!
..............................110-PG.................................................Webered-Turbo

Date: October 06, 2018 07:06PM

So neither of you have one. BTW - Power Probe 3 is NOT a meter...

Posted by: streblerm ()
Date: October 06, 2018 07:09PM

I have one, it’s a great tool. There is a little learning curve but it’s not too steep. A multi meter will do some things that the PP3 won’t do but for auto electric it does 90+ percent of what I need it to. Being able to energize and/or ground components in your hand is awesome. They can check continuity, voltage, ground, and even indicate high/low resistance but without real accuracy. The only con I can think of is if you’re working on long trucks or trailers you’ll need the extension to hook up to the battery.