Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Nitrogen:How To Test My AC System For Leaks? And Micron Guage-HELP! eye popping smiley
Posted by: UGLYTRUK ()
Date: August 05, 2018 07:26PM

I attended the AC tech session, and one of the attendees mentioned test charging my newly installed system with nitrogen. Its a stock style 1966 version condenser. Before I try fill it with R12, how does one use a micron gauge to check for leaks? I've used the hang style gauges a few times, but I'm far from a pro! I will be ordering a new reciever dryer from Rock Auto. They sell two GM styles, neither of which is "listed" for the Corvair, but they sure look very close!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Nitrogen:How To Test My AC System For Leaks? And Micron Guage-HELP! eye popping smiley
Posted by: MattNall ()
Date: August 05, 2018 08:13PM

No idea!! I just checked the Web... Gauge! over time...

Spray bottle with soapy water will show and leak as bubbles.

Sea Mountain, between Charleston Harbor and Coos Bay! SW Oregon Coast
Click HERE for My Website...Click HERE for My TechPages!
..............................110-PG.................................................Webered-Turbo

Re: Nitrogen:How To Test My AC System For Leaks? And Micron Guage-HELP! eye popping smiley
Posted by: Frank DuVal ()
Date: August 05, 2018 08:55PM

Use micron gauge to see what the vacuum is in the system while using the vacuum pump. 500 microns is real dry system. 1000 microns is good. When the system is pulled to 1000 microns, leave it under vacuum, with pump valved off. The first rise in microns will be water vapor gassing off. If you cannot achieve 1000 microns, there is a leak.