Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
Electrical confusion
Posted by: whitey ()
Date: July 05, 2018 08:57AM

I'm not very good with electrical, so please forgive me.

I recently installed an electrical fuel pump. I added a simple switch to aid in priming empty carburetor bowls. I think I have it wired correctly, but who knows?

First time I restarted, I noticed the car would immediately want to crank with the key was in the 'on' position. (not good). I stopped. Tried again. This time it seemed normal. didn't start during the on position, gas pump was working.

I tried to start, but was not getting much. Suddenly large backfire! OK. Distributor is 180 degrees out. Fixed that and the car started. Kind of rough and wouldn't idle. (this is a car I have been working on for years and only had running a couple of times). Had an oil like at the pressure sensor, so I stopped and fixed it.

Tried again and it ran but still was kind of rough. Did a compression test and all were either 150 or 125.

Tried to start again. Large puff of smoke out left carb and then the starter motor kept on turning. No grinding of the starter teeth, just running. I guess the solenoid didn't engage?

Turned the ignition to off. THE STARTER KEPT GOING!!

Pulled the negative off the battery to stop everything. Now every time I try to connect the negative to the battery I get a huge spark!!

Suggestions? I gather there must be a short somewhere but where to I start?
I disconnected the fuel pump primer switch but still the same.

Thank in advance. Ken

Ken W. - Winnipeg, Manitoba
64 Monza 927

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Electrical confusion
Posted by: Frank DuVal ()
Date: July 05, 2018 09:10AM