Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
OT Anyone Miss Manual Trans in their Daily Drivers?
Posted by: glivorsi ()
Date: May 04, 2018 10:46AM

I've been driving since 1986 and had a manual transmission since 1994 for my daily driver until recently. I used to love the feeling of control and the somewhat uniqueness of it. Late last year I could tell that the clutch in my Mazda was getting thin and didn't want to drop close to $2k into a car that wasn't worth more than about $5k. It was also starting to rust and was a little snug for the new family that I had acquired. I bit the bullet and traded in the Mazda on a lightly used 2014 Honda Accord V6. The Honda is a 6-speed automatic and doesn't even have a manual mode. I always thought that I couldn't live without a stick shift but honestly I don't miss it at all. I had often thought that if I ever had an auto DD that I'd have to convert my PG Vair to a 4-speed. The car is too original to molest, but I now have no desire to do it anyway. Has anyone else given up their manual trans and regretted it?

Greg in Wildwood, MO (part of the St. Louis urban sprawl)

1965 Monza Vert 110PG, Crocus Yellow with black interior and top

2014 Honda Accord V6 (DD)
2017 Honda Pilot (wifemobile)
2012 Chevy Sonic 1.8L (kid's car)
1997 Honda CBR1100XX
2006 Mazdaspeed 6 (no longer own)

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: OT Anyone Miss Manual Trans in their Daily Drivers?
Posted by: toms73novass ()
Date: May 04, 2018 10:57AM

I have converted 3 vehicles to stick. Two of those I drive currently. Since they are older 1998 Dodge Ram Diesel and 2001 Audi allroad as automatics in my opinion they were not good. As manuals, they have transformed into great vehicles.