home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“Performance
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
New Project: '64 Monza Coupe, 110hp 4spd
Posted by: kcjengr ()
Date: May 03, 2018 11:48AM

Hello all,

I recently acquired a 1964 Monza coupe which I will be restoring as I have time and resources. Overall it is in decent condition, no major body damage and it runs and drives well, but it does have some significant rust damage which will need to be repaired. I am a complete novice at body work, so I will likely be seeking plenty of advice from you all on how best to proceed.

A quick vairstory of the car for anyone interested (feel free to skipwinking smiley):

I know very little of the early history, but it had factory AC and rumor has it that it was used for transporting remains between various funeral homes here in Georgia and the Carolinas.

Based on show plaques/paperwork found in the trunk, the car was restored sometime in the late 80s or early 90s. I believe this work was done by an aircraft mechanic named Ron. I believe his daughter drove the car thru and after college. My brother bought the car from her sometime around 2007-08

The car served as my brother's daily driver for about a year, but when the engine started to run poorly he did not have time to work on it, so it sat in his driveway for about 10 years. During that time it was used by my nephews and the various neighbor kids as a jungle gym, and the engine vents served as a drying rack for enough mud pies to feed the Prussian Army indefinitely.