Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Need help - Resurrecting a Spyder
Posted by: hennesse ()
Date: March 09, 2018 09:35PM

I've got a line on a 1962 Spyder convertible that needs "get it out of my carport". I haven't seen it yet, and I have no idea what I will see when I do, but I gotta go check this baby out.

I've owned 5 Corvairs (a Rampside, two convertibles, two 4-doors) and was a member of CORSA, but this was back in the 1980s. I know the basic drill for prepping a long-sleeping engine for restart. But I have ZERO knowledge about Turbos.

What the heck should I do before trying to restart a long-sleeping Turbo?

What should I oil? What should I take apart and check? Heck, can I even use starting fluid on this engine?

Dumb questions, but I'd rather look stupid than destroy a rare Turbo by being too hasty on the restart.

This car is likely a pile of rusty junk, but then again, it might be the barn find of the century! So I want to be prepared...

Thanks,
Dave Hennessey

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/09/2018 09:38PM by hennesse.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Resurrecting a Spyder
Posted by: MattNall ()
Date: March 09, 2018 09:40PM

Welcome to the CCF!

No different than an N/A engine.... doesn't hurt anything if the turbo is seized.

Turn engine by hand....before buying..

At the top of the Message list are "Stickies"

Look for the one that says FAQ's and there you will find all sorts of tips before you go...and after / if you buy!

Where are you at? Someone here may be close!

Sea Mountain, between Charleston Harbor and Coos Bay! SW Oregon Coast
Click HERE for My Website...Click HERE for My TechPages!