Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
65 Corvair distributor orientation
Posted by: scottyd ()
Date: February 22, 2018 02:50PM

Hello. I have a 65 Monza with a 4 spd. Motor was replaced with a 95 PG. I am no mechanic, but can do a few things. I have had distributor out and am concerned that I do not have it in correctly. Engine starts and runs,but not great. When I set the timing the vacuum advance points to about 5 oclock. The pictures I have seen online show most of the pointing to the 3 oclock position. It seems I may be off a few teeth on the dist. Is that possible and it still run? Thanks for any help and if not enough info, let me know. Scott.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: 65 Corvair distributor orientation
Posted by: jcorvair ()
Date: February 22, 2018 03:01PM

If you can rotate the distributor enough to set the timing correctly, then your problem may be that your distributor is not the correct one for the engine. Are you using the 4 spd distributor in the 95 PG setup or did that engine come with the correct distributor?

James
Maple Ridge, BC

2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Turbo
2013 Hyundai Elantra (daughter's future car)
2016 Dodge 3500 Crew Cab 4x4 (for haulin cars, trailers, fifth wheels, quads, etc.)
2013 Victory Car Hauler (enclosed)
2015 Polaris 570 EPS
2016 Polaris 570 SP

Date: February 22, 2018 03:10PM

The distributor was in the engine when I bought the car. So I am just assuming that it is the correct one for the 95 PG. My car is a 4 spd though. Thanks.

Posted by: steve c goodman ()
Date: February 22, 2018 03:50PM

Dist numbers are listed in FAQ here. 95/pg typically is 1110311 and 95/manual is typically 1110310.