home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“Performance
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Ignition switch/Starter Issue
Posted by: dolomitefan ()
Date: January 08, 2018 01:08AM

I'm new to the Corvair fraternity but not new to classic cars and my current problem seems odd.

Cold starting the GB is quite hard work but that's not the real issue. When cold sometimes the engine continues to turn over on the starter even though the ignition switch has been switched off and sometimes even when the key is removed. The problem does not occur every time and when the engine catches it does not continue to turn the starter.

Is this likely to be a switch itself or possibly could the starter motor or solenoid still somehow be energised even though the ignition switch is turned off. I rather assumed that if the switch was off then there was no way for the starter to continue turning.

Changing a switch is easy, messing with starters and solenoids is something else. It's not going to do my battery, starter or ring gear any good if it continues.

Anyone else ever had this weird problem?

---------------------------------------------------------------
Mark Gibson, Staffordshire, England

1961 Corvair Greenbrier
1980 Triumph Dolomite Sprint
2015 BMW 1 Series

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Ignition switch/Starter Issue
Posted by: Layton Curtis ()
Date: January 08, 2018 07:03AM

The starter drive may be sticking and/or the plunger in the solenoid may be sticking in the start position. In which case the latter cause may be the solenoid coil windings may be faultly. As an aside, it could be mangled teeth on the flywheel (which is not likely)

Date: January 08, 2018 07:49AM