Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
V8 or flat 6 for a Hill Climb/Road Course build?
Posted by: Johnsona0620 ()
Date: December 14, 2017 01:19PM

Hello I am new to corvairs. I actually fell in love with the cars when I found out about chuck rust's crown corvair and the Yenko stingers history. I'd like advice on deciding on a engine platform to build into a hill climb/Road course race car that can still be driven on the streets for long periods of time if I wanted to drive to a meet or track day. I am 26 years old and most of my buddies into cars have never heard of corvairs or just don't like them because they didn't come with a V8. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'd like the car to be as good/fast/reliable as pikes peaks vintage class competitive cars. So far I've purchased Performance corvairs: How to hotrod the corvair engine and chassis. I'd also like to know the most cost effective engine platform to reach my goals.

Thanks for reading guys

Attachments:
Options: ReplyQuote
Re: V8 or flat 6 for a Hill Climb/Road Course build?
Posted by: thewolfe ()
Date: December 14, 2017 02:03PM

LSx is probably the most cost effective v8 platform for any car. Tons of aftermarket parts and the motors are relatively cheap and robust. Only problem is getting one in a corvair. If you're good at fabrication then this is not an issue as there are no swap kits for corvairs. Everything has to be fabricated. The easy way is to find a crown car that has all the parts. Won't be as much fun as an LS though.

Nate Wolfe
Portland OR
65 Corsa 180

Date: December 14, 2017 02:15PM

Here's some "thought food" for your consideration:

Doug Roe & his Corvair Powered Racer from the 1960s