Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Upper ball joint removal
Posted by: Nelson ()
Date: November 18, 2017 08:20AM

How hard is it to remove and install a upper ball joint on a 63 monza convertible?

Thanks
Toronto Ontario Canada

Nelson Santos
Toronto Ontario Canada 🇨🇦

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Upper ball joint removal
Posted by: Dave Decker ()
Date: November 18, 2017 08:44AM

IIRC, you drill or grind off the rivets holding the old ball joints on, and bolts the new ones on.... Cheers, Dave

Dave, Kamloops, B.C. '65 Crown V8, 2017 Mazda CX3

Posted by: American Mel ()
Date: November 18, 2017 08:53AM

That is the "process", but does not address the difficulty.
Sorry Nelson, I have no experience on this one.
Can't help you there.

-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-
WA. state, 1 mile south of the Canadian border,
I am not at the end of the world, but you can see it from here.
'66 Monza Coupe - 4spd, 140 Daily driver beater
'67 Monza Vert. - PG, 140 Daily driver beater
'67 A/C Moredoor Monza - 140 4-spd. driver

Posted by: junkman ()
Date: November 18, 2017 09:37AM

Ease or difficulty, depends on the type of tools that you have. If you have a air powered chisel, it is very easy to blow the heads of the rivets off, and then drive the rest of the rivet down with a punch and hammer. If all you have is a hammer and cold chisel, it is more difficult, but also doable, depending on how good your aim is with the hammer. It hurts when you hit your hand with the hammer, instead of the head of the chisel. I have known people that will drill a hole in the top of the rivet first, to weaken it, so chiseling it off is easier.