home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“Performance
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
OT 1986 Sierra issues
Posted by: BrianTom ()
Date: June 18, 2017 02:57PM

My brother has a 86 Sierra pickup with a 305. It stopped working years ago because it would mysteriously stop. No rhyme or reason to it. Some days it was fine, others it would go dead at the first intersection. He recently had the carb rebuilt, new distributor, new fuel lines, new battery. On the first test drive, it went dead again. He tried to restart it and it wouldn't go over 20 and smoke starting coming out from under the hood, so he turned it off and parked it. I want there, so just giving his account. I have no experience with a 305... Any thoughts better than just poor it out of it's misery? I was thinking ignition or fuel pump and possibly the carb or fuel lines not being put on properly.

Thanks,

Brian

'63 Corvair 700
Huntsville, AL
[www.brianwindsor.com]

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: OT 1986 Sierra issues
Posted by: MattNall ()
Date: June 18, 2017 03:25PM

Most likely the Computer...typical for those years iirc!

Sea Mountain, between Charleston Harbor and Coos Bay! SW Oregon Coast
Click HERE for My Website...Click HERE for My TechPages!
..............................110-PG.................................................Webered-Turbo

Posted by: moomba32 ()
Date: June 18, 2017 03:40PM