Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Imron Paint
Posted by: Mark Geygan ()
Date: February 13, 2005 07:47PM

Can anybody give me some advice on Imron paint. I had my 68 Monza painted with Imron red and some of it started to bubble. The body shop wasn't sure if they could blend it in. It was the first time any of them worked with Imron paint. Bunch of young guys. Does anyone know if it works the same as the acryllic enamels and what not. Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Imron Paint
Posted by: Steve O ()
Date: February 13, 2005 10:03PM

Mark - I am not an expert, but you'll need to get an "expert" to help you make this decision. If your paint was done with Dupont Imron, the polyurethane based paint, then I'm 100% positive that you have to have the entire panel refinished. If you had the car painted with the acrylic based Imron, I think you can "blend in". I'm basing this info on what I remember from friends cars that were painted in the 70s with the poly version of Imron.

Once you figure out what the car was painted with, I would suggest talking to your local Dupont rep to find out who is either using that paint system in your area or is familiar with the system - stay away from those "young guys" if you're not confident in their abilities.

Re: Imron Paint
Posted by: "UNSAFE" ()
Date: February 13, 2005 11:32PM

I remember Imron being airplane paint.

A "simple" google search with the words- acrylic paint over imron-- brought up 680 web pages of info including some body and paint forums.

I think you can still get Imron ? Maybe an aviation supply.

"UNSAFE"

Posted by: Dan ()
Date: February 15, 2005 08:42AM