Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12345678Next
Current Page: 1 of 8
68 corvair monza convertible
Posted by: coleslaw31 ()
Date: January 17, 2013 10:38AM

Hey guys I am new to the corvair world. I am 27 from South Carolina and was wanting me a classic and jumped on this 68 corvair convertible. I snagged it down from Virginia so it has some fender rust from salt (being from South Carolina I am not used to rust on cars) but over all it's pretty clean and everything is intact. It spent the last 6 years parked inside and I am attempting to crank it up to see how it runs but they had drained the gas and I cannot get it to prime. I hear filling up the bowl on a carb is a good way to prime the pump but am unsure where to take the carbs apart at to get to the bowl without tearing everything down. Help and diagrams would be great, I am ordering a book here soon but it has rained non stop and I am trying to get it in the garage to get it out of the weather and being I am alone on this and it weights as much as a house I cannot push it in out of the rain.

Attachments:
Options: ReplyQuote
Re: 68 corvair monza convertible
Posted by: MattNall ()
Date: January 17, 2013 11:11AM

Welcome to the CCF! Lots of Vair people in S. Carolina.. tell us where !

27 and cannot push a 2800 lb car??? LOL!!! no flame!!

If the car has been sitting 6 years......without starting? There are a few things to do first...

Try looking at our Rules and FAQ's Sticky at the top of the main page.... lots of help there and links to downloadable manuals!

If you've already cranked the engine long enough to get the PRESS / TEMP light to extinguish????