California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
American Flat 6

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
140 rebuild guidance?...
Posted by: PlumWild ()
Date: March 30, 2012 04:17PM

Hi, i am new to the sight and have had trouble finding infomation im looking for.

I have a 140 corvair in my sand rail that i need to rebuild, i did a compression test a few years back when i was redoing the frame and it was all way off (different in all cylinders). My uncle thinks the rings never sealed and im concerned with 40+ year old heads it may need new seats or guides

from reseaching on and off since then i have found that corvair builds can be quite expensive and i tend to dream big for my budget anyway...
so what would be the basics on curing the compression loss in a 140 and possibly gaining power while rebuilding it thats not too over the top $ wise?

its got a center mount carb, 60 over and reverse cam

i would appreciate any help or advice, thanks

Re: 140 rebuild guidance?...
Posted by: cnicol ()
Date: March 30, 2012 05:02PM

Hi, and welcome to the site!

I'd recommend starting with a leakdown test. This test would pinpoint just where you're losing compression. Once that's figured out and the heads are off, you can check the condition of the cylinder walls and where to go from there.

Does the engine have low blow-by and good oil pressure? If so, I'd bet the bottom end and cylinders are OK.

On the other hand, my experience with my sand-rail included enough dirt ingestion that cylinder walls got scored and compression suffered.

You won't know about guide wear until you take the heads apart but wobbly valves would certainly contribute to low and irregular compression.

Like I said, I would begin the process with a leakdown test. Do you know anyone with a leakdown tester?

Craig N. Coeur d'Alene ID.
66 Black Monza 4dr, 4.2L V8 49k
66 Red Monza 2dr 140/4 EFI 60k
61 Seamist Jade Rampside 140 PG
65 Cypress Green Monza 140/4 4dr
65 White 4-dr 110/AC/PG (project)