home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“Performance
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 123Next
Current Page: 1 of 3
Can anyone tell me if this is a factory Fitch Sprint?
Posted by: 65sprint ()
Date: October 07, 2009 07:35PM

Hi everybody,
I'm a newbie here, although I've owned (and still own) a 1965 Monza 110 convertible for 3 years (and love it!). Well my question is: I just bought a 1965 Fitch Sprint, but i wanted to know if anyone can tell me by looking at the three pictures if it's either 1) a "factory" Fitch sprint, or 2) a customer purchased car that was driven (or delivered new) to Fitch and modified or 3) a Chevy dealer modified Fitch sprint or 4) a regular Corsa that someone put mail order Fitch sprint parts on. It doesn't have the ventop but does have the 4 single carbs with 4 air cleaners as well as a sticker on the trunk lid that says that it's got 155hp.

Also, does anyone know how many actual "factory" Fitch sprints were made? i saw one on Ebay about 3 1/2 years ago that was an authentic factory Fitch because the title actually said "Fitch Sprint" on it.

Attachments:

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Can anyone tell me if this is a factory Fitch Sprint?
Posted by: cnicol ()
Date: October 07, 2009 07:49PM

Here are some telltale Fitch optons:
Vent-top (which isn't on your car)
Individual air cleaners
Modified carburetor linkage (maybe 66+ only)
Steering dampener
Aeon rubber spring inside the coil springs
Lucas Flamethrower headlights (not on your car that I can tell)
Flash to pass (your car has a hole in the dash that might have been for it)
Headlight stone guards
Distintive striping.
Hands wheels (not on your car)