Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum - presented by CORSA The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
External Alt replaced with 10SI - sanity check please
Posted by: gerg ()
Date: August 04, 2022 06:41PM

OK, I have read most of the threads I can find here. 'Believe' my setup is OK, but pretty much killed a battery (was 8 years old) - bear with me and I'll make the case.

Last month while at the convention I noticed my lights acting a little weird - pulsing as I ran through the RPM range - just seemed erratic. The following week my GEN light started glowing at low RPM, would go out as I got off idle. I decided it was time to install one of the new 10SI units I had on the shelf, and clean up the wiring a bit while I was at it. I have been running setup since 2014.

What I had:
    * 1962 Rampside
    * Original wiring harness intact - except engine bay - Clark's repro
    * Alternator with external regulator, Clarks kit (came with the truck)
    * Accel Super Coil
    * Pertronix II
    * LM red plastic POSITIVE terminal on frame rail for ignition / Alt / Battery junction
    * GEN lamp is flashing bulb from Clark's (if it matters)
    * Cheap digital tuner under dash with a memory lead hooked up (6 years now)

What I did:
    *Removed existing alternator and regulator
    *Wired just like the diagram below (found here on CC)
    *Removed the regulator connector and direct wired

I cranked the truck up, measure ~14.4VDC at the battery terminal. Turn ignition off, engine dies, GEN light does not stay on. I think "Great, I'm done"
When I did this with my VW bus I wasn't so lucky, engine would not kill. Had to install the diode behind the dash. That has worked till this day.

I take the FC for a short ride then park it for about 4 days.