Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum - presented by CORSA The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
65 monza 110 4 sp - rear grinding/clunking
Posted by: andys65 ()
Date: May 03, 2022 07:39PM

Newbie here - just acquired my 65 Monza 110 4 sp recently. There is a clunking or grinding sound coming from the drivetrain. It is especially noticeable during slow speed sharp turns even with engine off. During the clunking sound, rear of car actually moves up and down slightly like there's a square peg in a round hole. When both rears are on jackstands, there is no grinding/scraping sound while spinning wheels that I would expect from a bearing so thinking maybe it's not bearing related. Car runs and shifts fine. Unfortunately, I don't have much history as far as mechanical/maintenance. Thanks for your ideas!! I

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: 65 monza 110 4 sp - rear grinding/clunking
Posted by: RobertC ()
Date: May 03, 2022 07:49PM

Differential / transmission full?

Though I think it is too late for that:

Most likely spider gears IMO

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/03/2022 07:51PM by RobertC.

Posted by: American Mel ()
Date: May 03, 2022 08:26PM

Only happens when turning?
Yeah, I would agree with Robert.
It sounds like your Spider Gears are bad.

-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-
WA. state, 1 mile south of the Canadian border, I am not at the end of the world, but you can see it from here.

Date: May 03, 2022 08:35PM

There is some noise when going straight, but really noticeable when turning. I am in the Dallas area - anyone know of a good shop or backyard Vair person? Thanks!!

Posted by: MattNall ()
Date: May 03, 2022 09:47PM