Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum - presented by CORSA The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Powerglide Pan Gasket Best Practices?
Posted by: aircooled ()
Date: September 19, 2021 10:30AM

I am trying to help a high school kid with his 61 powerglide car (hey, he thinks it cool!). It has a REALLY badly leaking pan gasket. As in, it's a pretty constant drip if the car is at any angle. I tried to tighten the bolts a bit, but that might have made it worse! (the gasket is mush)

So, I have little experience with Powerglides, what is the suggested best practices?

Should I put gasket sealer on it (a very thin coating of course). Both sides? Cover side only (which is what I do for valve covers?

Most importantly, what torque? (I show 60-80 in/pounds) Use thread locker?

I am guessing, drive it a bit and re-check the torque (always a good idea with valve and oil pans)

And yes, I will see if I can get him do do most of the work (the car is a bit of mess in some ways from what previous owners have done)

Tim
Southern California - Where the stars are on the ground and dirt is in the sky

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Powerglide Pan Gasket Best Practices?
Posted by: TerribleTed ()
Date: September 19, 2021 11:33AM

Cork/rubber composite gaskets work well. Flattening the pan at all bolt holes if they are dimpled (usually are) is essential. Clean dry installation with a very thin coat of Permatex #2 is what I use. I do not use a torque spec but I tighten each bolt while watching the gasket edge. as soon as the gasket edge starts to squish out just a hair the bolt tension is good.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Avid Corvair hobbiest since 1984.