Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Paint prep advice
Posted by: OttawaCorvairGuy ()
Date: April 04, 2021 09:21AM

Paint prep advice needed:

I need to remove the clear coat that is flaking off.
What is the best way to remove the clear coat?
I was thinking sanding it down to a paint coat that is sticking well to the item, but I've never done this kind of work before.

I then need to prep the surface and put on a good primer.
What kind of cleaning solvent should I use and what is the best kind of primer to use?

FYI - I want to paint it a different color.
It's currently red and I want it white.
Does this effect the kind of primer and the color of primer needed?
Is there anything I need to do to make it come out nice and no signs of the old color?

Thank you,
Tony

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 04/05/2021 09:32PM by MattNall.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Paint prep advice
Posted by: MattNall ()
Date: April 04, 2021 09:27AM

You must sand off all the clear. Then with it ready for paint use a "sealer". Scuff it and shoot your new color.

Sea Mountain, between Charleston Harbor and Coos Bay! SW Oregon Coast
Click HERE for My Website...Click HERE for My TechPages!
...............110-PG.................................................Webered-Turbo

Date: April 04, 2021 10:06AM

MattNall Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> You must sand off all the clear. Then with it ready for paint use a "sealer". Scuff it and shoot your new color.

I've been a mechanic all my life and no nothing about body and paint work.

Is sealer a kind or type of primer?

Does it have to be sanded before the final paint is applied?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/04/2021 10:07AM by OttawaCorvairGuy.

Posted by: MattNall ()