Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
exhaust and heating questions
Posted by: sirsparkalot ()
Date: February 21, 2021 11:48AM

Engine rebuild complete and ready to go back in the car, I'm new to corvairs so have a couple of basic questions:
1, Has anyone fitted any glass pack mufflers like "smithy's" I don't want cherry bomb sound just something a little different from the stock dual mufflers that are fitted to the car.

2, My car doesn't have any heater hoses fitted and other bits needed to heat the car, as I'm in the UK its not easy to replace the system.
Has anyone fitted one of these units or similar?

Thanks in advance.

Attachments:

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: exhaust and heating questions
Posted by: 2ragtops ()
Date: February 21, 2021 11:53AM

This is just opinion, but for the money, I would invest in the proper items to make your heater work. When they are in good repair, and working as they should, the heat will drive you out of the car, most than ample heat. I don't know how much is missing from your car, but the lower shrouds, two thermostats and the hoses,would run you about $150.00. And take up NO space in the car, and won't overload your alternator or wiring.

As far as the mufflers, I have had "can" type mufflers on my cars, and they seem to work, sometimes get a bit loud but they will fit and work.

Bob Bauer

Show-Me Corvairs

1966 Monza Convert 140 P/G with A/C, plastic wheel with tele-column am-fm posi-traction
1966 Corsa Convert 180 wood wheel tele-column am-fm sport steering posi-traction
1965 Corsa Coupe Crown V8 temporarily red lined for repair
House Springs, Missouri

Posted by: Timothy Shortle ()
Date: February 21, 2021 12:01PM