Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
64 Spyder rear lights
Posted by: Britcorvair ()
Date: February 14, 2021 09:10AM

Hi, I'm new to Corvairs. My 64 Spyder has a number of electrical problems which I'm sorting out. The previous owner replaced the rear lights and lamp holders but left them unconnected.

The outer lights have two black wires protruding and the inners also have two blacks and a white.

The loom has a two wire connector plug plus a striped black/ green ( which has been cut off) adjacent to the light fittings.

Can you please advise me , I seem to have too many wires to join into the loom if all four lights operate at the same time. or are the inners wired separately?

Thanks, Gordon (UK)

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: 64 Spyder rear lights
Posted by: junkman ()
Date: February 14, 2021 09:31AM

The housings are grounded to the body by the rear clampng bracket that holds the light assemblies to the car. Check to make sure that the housings have a good ground. Then the 2 wires coming out the bottom of the bulb socket, one is for the stop / directional light, and the other is for the taillight. There should only be 2 taillights on the car, and the inners are the back up lights. Possibly because of local regulations, the back up lights were replace with taillights. If your wiring is hacked up, you might want to consider purchasing from www.corvair.com (Clarks Corvair) reproduction wiring harnesses. That way, you will be starting off with wiring that isn't 50+ years old, and everything will hook up properly. If you need new tail or back up light housings, I can provide you with NOS units.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------