Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Deciphering what is OEM and what is not on this car... confused smiley
Posted by: ShaneM ()
Date: October 11, 2020 02:10PM

Hello all,

I am looking at a well-taken care of 1966 Monza Convertible that was redone 10 years ago and has not been driven since, stored inside and heated. However, there are a few things I'm seeing that are not stock and I want to make sure I am not missing any of them in making a decision on whether to move forward or not. I'd also appreciate everyone else's thoughts on this one as I'm pretty new to shopping for Corvairs and just starting to learn about these beautiful cars.

Here is what I know about this car. Photos at bottom.

[*] Purchased 25 years ago in original color of blue with black interior.
    [*] Painted in Evening Orchid (non-standard color for this model year) and added Monza word badge where Corsa badge would be. I suspect this is from an early 70s Chevy Monza which I really do not like. I do not know if this was glued on or was fastened like the OEM Corsa or Monza badges are
    [*] 110HP Auto with Power top
    [*] Engine redone 10 years ago
    [*] Trans redone 10 years ago
    [*] Paint was bubbling 10 years ago near rocker panels, both were cut completely out and replaced with new, each were 2-piece welded together about 3/8" thick. From what I can tell the owner and the guy who did the body work did not go cheap on this but it's hard to tell how exactly it was done, or I'm not sure how to ask the right questions.
    [*] Body tag is: 66-10567 WRN 1752; 758-WD2MS5Y D-2
    [*] Interior is original but already had accents 25 years ago, replaced 10 years ago to match exterior color
    [*] New carpet