Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Wix Oil Filter
Posted by: junkman ()
Date: March 28, 2020 06:36PM

An engineering drawing of the Corvair oil filter. No other engine other than the Corvair shared the Corvair oil filter. In the world of oil filters, this is unheard of! There was a generator that used the same top pattern as the Corvair oil filter for the generators fuel filter. The filter on the outside is exactly like the Corvair oil filter, however at the bottom of the filter there is a drain plug. I have a couple in my oil filter collection. I have been collecting Corvair oil filters since 1982 and have about 200 different filters in my collection. I fist showed the collection at the Corvair Atlanta meet in 1994(?). At that time, I had about 90 on display in 4 cases. After that, a few other Corvair hobbyist started collecting them also.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Woodstock CT... Located on the Connecticut / Massachusetts border, approximately 6 miles from the center of Southbridge MA. About 45 minutes from Hartford CT. 1 1/2 hours West of Boston MA. Woodstock CT to Los Angeles CA 2,937.1 miles. 1 Mile as the crow flies to Big Bird's nest.

Attachments:

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Wix Oil Filter
Posted by: cnicol ()
Date: March 28, 2020 06:44PM

Nice. I've never seen a blueprint for any oil filter, let alone Corvair. Seems like the perfect thing for an oil filter collector. As I understand it, Wix was the OEM that made Corvair filters for GM.

Craig N. Coeur d'Alene ID.
66 Black Monza 4dr, 4.2L V8 49k
61 Seamist Jade Rampside 140 PG
60 Monza coupe (sold, sniff sniff)