Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Bypassing the resistor wire
Posted by: JRAY ()
Date: January 13, 2020 07:20AM

Good morning! Looking for a little help with my '66, please. I've tried searching, but haven't found exactly what I'm looking for, and I'm a newb on electrical stuff(and the Corvair). I'm looking to bypass the resistor wire for an electronic distributor install. I've been studying the wiring diagram and comparing to the Vair. So my question is, If I am bypassing the resistor wire, do I need to run a complete wire from my tap in location to the coil, or can I just jump the resistor wire and still use the stock yellow wire? Thanks in advance for the help!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Bypassing the resistor wire
Posted by: Wagon Master ()
Date: January 13, 2020 07:24AM

You need to run a new wire from your tap in point to the coil. The yellow wire is a feed from the starter solenoid to feed the coil with key in the start position. GM wired it so you had 12V to the coil while cranking for easier starts, then drop back to 5-7V in run mode.

'29 Ford Model A Tudor
'61 700 Lakewood 110 4 speed
'69 Monza Convert. 140 Auto.
'70 Dodge Challenger R/T 440 4 speed

Been aircooled since 1973
Northwest Ohio

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/13/2020 07:26AM by Wagon Master.

Posted by: joelsplace ()
Date: January 13, 2020 07:30AM

You can just jump around the resistor wire (not the yellow wire) unless your electronic ignition pulls more current than the wire can handle. What kind of electronic ignition?
If it's a Pertronix 1 you don't need or want to bypass the wire even though the instructions tell you to.

Joel
Northlake, TX
5 Ultravans, 114 Corvairs and counting...