Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
Cost To Paint A ‘66 Corvair Sedan?
Date: April 09, 2019 05:34PM

I’m a younger newbie, desperately been searching for a reliable source or other threads to find out about this question.

I just bought a ‘66 Corvair Sedan as a first car, totally not expecting it to be great or anything. For the price it was pretty nice! I’d just like to repaint it. The condition cosmetically isn’t great. Multiple scratches as if someone had keyed the car all along the right side, many more scratches and a large ding on the front trunk lid. As well as a large rusting dent under the bumper. A small hole on the passenger side.

With all these outter cosmetic issues, I wasn’t quite sure what to think. Except that I wanted them decently fixed paint wise. I don’t mind the dinks or some scratches, Im just wanting it to be shiny and more pleasant to look at. At the time I have 1k saved up, obviously not enough for a good paint.

Closest research I’ve found is the most of 5k to 6k, however I’d like a good paint job, I can truly only afford about 2500 or so.

Does anyone know what that could get me, if anything?
Thank you!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Cost To Paint A ‘66 Corvair Sedan?
Posted by: Timothy Shortle ()
Date: April 09, 2019 05:37PM

If you are a "younger" newbie you might consider signing up with a community college auto body shop class and then do the work yourself. Lots of $$$ is charged by body shops for their time and effort. Now where are you located? And WELCOME.
I bought my first Corvair 42 years ago at the young age of 16 and have had them ever since. Oh and 4 DOORS RULE!

Posted by: MattNall ()
Date: April 09, 2019 05:40PM

Welcome to the CCF!