Corvair Center
home forum corvairs calendar links Corvair Podcast
California Corvairs
Clarks Corvair
Clarks Corvair
“CORSA"

Chevy Corvair License Plate
Chevy Corvair Chrome Wheel
Corvair Center Forum :  Corvair Center Phorum The fastest message board... ever.
Corvair Center 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
copper and aluminum
Posted by: ac1948 ()
Date: February 10, 2019 04:42AM

Being a retired electrician I know copper and aluminum mated together is not advisable unless a compound such as Noalox is used. My question is does the use of copper head gaskets on aluminum heads have any adverse effect?

Jerry Murray
Charleston, SC

63 Rampside, PG,110

63 Greenbrier, PG, 110

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: copper and aluminum
Posted by: JimBrandberg ()
Date: February 10, 2019 06:22AM

I use anti-seize as Clarks suggests and have never had a problem. There was a thread here a few months ago suggesting it is not necessary but I haven't quit.

Jim Brandberg
Isanti, MN
CorvairRepair.com

Posted by: Frank DuVal ()
Date: February 10, 2019 04:12PM

The original insructions had the use of anti-seize, which is the mechanic’s version of No A Lox.

Frank DuVal

Fredericksburg, VA

Posted by: Max Roeder ()
Date: February 10, 2019 04:29PM

Still trying to identify why copper anti seize is not recommended for the copper to aluminum interface. The negative shows up a couple of times in some reading but nothing definitive. Nickle anti seize appears to be most commonly recommended for the copper/ aluminum contact.

Posted by: vairmech ()
Date: February 10, 2019 07:26PM

Is there a need for copper gaskets? There is nothing wrong with using the original stock steel gaskets.

Ken Hand
Handy Car Care
248 613 8586

Vairmech@aol.com

Posted by: junkman ()
Date: February 10, 2019 07:56PM